Intro to iCloud Sync

iCloud Sync in LogTen Pro X allows you to seamlessly transfer your logbook between LogTen Pro X apps on your iPhone, iPad, and Mac. As you add new entries and edit your logbook, changes will automatically be sent to iCloud in the background. The integration with iCloud also means that you can work on your logbook offline, and the next time that your device comes online, it will transfer changes without having to open the app.

Note: iCloud Sync should not be relied upon as a backup method. Changes will sync as quickly as iCloud transfers them, so it is not possible to prevent unwanted changes from transferring to your other devices, or restore to an earlier version. See Backups in LogTen Pro X for recommend backup solutions.

Continue reading this article for instructions on How to Setup iCloud Sync. You can also view a short video tutorial on iCloud Sync here: iCloud Sync Video

If you have other questions, please see these pages for iCloud Sync FAQs or Troubleshooting iCloud Sync


How to Setup iCloud Sync

Before you start using iCloud Sync, be sure to backup your logbook, and keep regular backups as you would with any important data.

First, the system iCloud settings must be enabled on your device. If it is not, or you have any questions about the process, see Apple's step by step walkthrough: iCloud Setup.

Remember, data can only sync between devices on a single iCloud account, so make sure you are signed into the same account on all devices.

After iCloud is enabled on your device, open LogTen Pro X and enable iCloud Sync:

  • On a Mac, select the LogTen Pro menu, then Preferences (or key shortcut command+comma). Select the Sync tab of the Preferences dialog, and change Sync Using to iCloud.

  • On an iPhone or iPad, select the More tab, and choose Settings. Select the Sync section, tap Sync Using, and select iCloud.

If this is your first device being added to iCloud Sync, everything is setup for this device! All changes you make will now be sent to iCloud automatically.

If you have other LogTen Pro X apps syncing with iCloud already, you'll be alerted that there is already logbook data in iCloud, and you'll need to choose how to finish setting up iCloud Sync.

Did the Other Devices in iCloud alert surprise you? Please see Unexpected Other Devices in iCloud further down the page.

In order to start transferring changes, LogTen Pro X needs to be sure that the data in iCloud and the app on your device are in complete agreement. You can either send the logbook from the device to iCloud, download the logbook from iCloud to your device, or merge the two together. You will be presented with these three buttons for continuing (and a cancel option, just in case!): Replace from iCloud, Merge with iCloud, Restart iCloud Sync.

  • Replace from iCloud will download the logbook data in iCloud to your device. Please note, the existing logbook in the app will be deleted and replaced with a copy of the logbook in iCloud.

  • Merge with iCloud will combine the current logbook with the existing logbook data in iCloud. Any new entries in either logbook will be copied to the other, and for entries that exist in both places, the most recently changed copy will be synced.

    Because the entire logbook needs to be compared, merging with iCloud can take some time, especially with larger logbooks. The process usually takes a couple minutes for each 1000 flights.

  • Restart iCloud Sync re-establishes iCloud Syncing with only the logbook from this device, and any existing logbook data in iCloud will be ignored. When LogTen Pro X next comes online on your other devices, each will be notified that the first device has restarted iCloud Sync, and asked to rejoin iCloud Sync. You will be given the option to Download the logbook of the device that restarted iCloud Sync, or Merge the existing logbook with data from that device in iCloud.

After your logbook download, merge, or restart completes, you're all done! All changes will automatically be transferred between your other devices through iCloud.

If you have a question about how to continue, see Common iCloud Sync Setup Scenarios in the next section for suggestions.


Common iCloud Sync Setup Scenarios

The following are some examples of ways you may want to setup iCloud Sync...

When Adding a New Device

When adding a new LogTen Pro X app with an empty logbook to iCloud Sync, you will most often want to download the existing data in iCloud to your new device. To accomplish this, choose Replace from iCloud, and the empty logbook file will replaced with the logbook file from iCloud.

After Re-installing LogTen Pro X

A fresh install of LogTen Pro X will have a blank logbook file, so you will most often want to download the existing data in iCloud back to your device. To accomplish this, choose Replace from iCloud, and the empty logbook file will replaced with the existing logbook file in iCloud.

After Restoring a Logbook Backup

If you have just restored a logbook backup, you will usually want to put the restored logbook on each of your devices. You can do this by choosing to Restart iCloud Sync. This kind of "restart" will prevent the restored logbook from merging with existing iCloud data, and iCloud Sync will be restarted with only your newly restored backup.

If iCloud Sync is already enabled on your other devices, each will be notified of the restart, and you can download the newly restored logbook to each other device. If iCloud Sync is not yet enabled on those devices, you will be able to choose to replace each device's logbook with the iCloud logbook when enabling iCloud Sync.

After Installing a Logbook

If you have just installed a new logbook file (e.g. with imported data), you will usually want to put the new logbook on each of your devices. You can do this by choosing to Restart iCloud Sync. This kind of "restart" will prevent the new logbook from merging with existing iCloud data, and iCloud Sync will be restarted with only your newly restored backup.

If iCloud Sync is already enabled on your other devices, each will be notified of the restart, and you can download the newly restored logbook to each other device. If iCloud Sync is not yet enabled on those devices, you will be able to choose to replace each device's logbook with the iCloud logbook when enabling iCloud Sync.

From Unexpected "Other Devices in iCloud"

If you were not expecting to see the Other Devices in iCloud alert when you enabled iCloud Sync, do not be alarmed! Restoring your device, or upgrading OS X or iOS can cause your device to be identified differently in iCloud. While it may be the same physical device, it may appear to be from a new device in iCloud. It is also possible that logbook data from an old device was not removed from iCloud. If your device already has your current logbook, you can choose Restart iCloud Sync to avoid syncing with existing iCloud data.


Any other questions? Please see this page for iCloud Sync FAQs